New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Raspberry Pi streaming
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A REAL Hi-Fi Owners' Club Forum With REAL Members and a Loaner Program to Prove It!

A rule of fairness:
When other manufacturers websites allow people to recommend our products instead of their own then people can do the same here, but please not before! Such posts will be deleted.
See terms and conditions here...


Raspberry Pi streaming

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 36>
Author
morris_minor View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 27 Mar 2012
Location: Surrey
Status: Offline
Points: 3801
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote morris_minor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Raspberry Pi streaming
    Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 5:28pm
A big thanks to ICL1P (Ifor) for dropping in this afternoon and bringing his Raspberry Pi/Digi for me to audition.

It took all of 5 minutes to get the device up and running on my system taking music files from my Mac and streaming to the Majestic (in place of a Cambridge Audio NP30).

It took less time to convince me that I need to get one (well, two actually) to replace my CA kit which has never really impressed. Since both the NP30 and the Stream Magic 6 feed external DACs half the functionality is redundant, and the resale value of both could probably fund around 8 Pi/Digis.

In terms of sound, it was as good as the DAC, which, of course, in the Majestic's case is truly excellent. With browser and app options for controlling the Pi (running Volumio or Rune) do you really need anything else? A big case with knobs and a fancy display? (Not that the CA kit has anywhere near a fancy display).

You have to think that the Hi-Fi manufacturer's approach to audio streaming (GSP excepted!) is to put a premium price on the kit to help their bottom line - and dress it up with marketing-speak to justify it. The success of Slim Devices' Squeezeboxes was due, in part, to them being priced as computer peripherals, not hifi. With the R Pi the wheel seems to have turned full circle. . . 
Bob.
----------
Majestic DAC/pre-amp
Accession, Reflex M, Elevator EXP, Era Gold V
Solo ULDE, Novo, Lautus USB and digital, Libran balanced, and plenty of CuSat50
2 x Proprius + Spatia/Spatia Links
Back to Top
Drewan77 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 25 May 2013
Location: Chester,England
Status: Offline
Points: 1361
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Drewan77 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 6:55pm
This is very interesting Bob, the more I read about the Pi/Digi combo the more intrigued I am for my own system

Would this work streaming music wirelessly from a NAS server in another room and if so, at what resolution for FLAC files (or does the Pi need to be connected by ethernet cable)? Maybe Ifor/Ian or another Pi user could answer if you don't know
Older than I once was, younger than I'll be
.............................
Andrew
Back to Top
ICL1P View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 04 Aug 2012
Location: Faringdon, Oxon
Status: Offline
Points: 1520
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ICL1P Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 7:02pm
Originally posted by Drewan77 Drewan77 wrote:

This is very interesting Bob, the more I read about the Pi/Digi combo the more intrigued I am for my own system

Would this work streaming music wirelessly from a NAS server in another room and if so, at what resolution for FLAC files (or does the Pi need to be connected by ethernet cable)? Maybe Ifor/Ian or another Pi user could answer if you don't know

Andrew, I've avoid wireless (you would need a wifi dongle for the Pi) because it doesn't work well in my house. My Pi is connected by Ethernet and Homeplugs to an an external hard disk connected to my iMac in a different room.
Ifor
=====
Reflex M, CuSat50, Majestic DAC (wow!)
Back to Top
Drewan77 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 25 May 2013
Location: Chester,England
Status: Offline
Points: 1361
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Drewan77 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 7:09pm
Thanks Ifor....that could pose a challenge because the music room is in an extension with the original outside wall of the house between it and the hall (where the server sits) so running ethernet is going to be difficult. I suppose homeplugs might be possible but the music room has a dedicated ring main not running via the consumer unit and I am not even sure the link would work


Edited by Drewan77 - 24 Sep 2014 at 7:10pm
Older than I once was, younger than I'll be
.............................
Andrew
Back to Top
ICL1P View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 04 Aug 2012
Location: Faringdon, Oxon
Status: Offline
Points: 1520
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ICL1P Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 8:10pm
In your situation I would be drilling through the wall and putting an Ethernet cable through. My wall is two foot thick and then I would have to circumnavigate a fireplace.
Ifor
=====
Reflex M, CuSat50, Majestic DAC (wow!)
Back to Top
Graham Slee View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Pushing the boundaries

Joined: 11 Jan 2008
Location: South Yorkshire
Status: Offline
Points: 7308
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Graham Slee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Sep 2014 at 11:10pm
Good stuff! Hoping to be joining you in Pi streaming shortly.

So it sounds good into the Maj? Using coax? Or optical? What resolutions are you trying? Interested to know.

Graham
There are only two things to stop you being a success in life and they're both called Google - Notions are not solutions!
Back to Top
morris_minor View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 27 Mar 2012
Location: Surrey
Status: Offline
Points: 3801
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote morris_minor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Sep 2014 at 12:02am
It was a fairly quick test - more a proof of concept, so I didn't explicitly try hi-res files. Connection to Majestic was coax Lautus.
Bob.
----------
Majestic DAC/pre-amp
Accession, Reflex M, Elevator EXP, Era Gold V
Solo ULDE, Novo, Lautus USB and digital, Libran balanced, and plenty of CuSat50
2 x Proprius + Spatia/Spatia Links
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 36>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.10
Copyright ©2001-2017 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.125 seconds.