FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Welcome to the Graham Slee Audio Products Owners Forum

Open to all owners plus those contemplating the purchase of a Graham Slee HiFi System Components audio product and wishing to use this forum's loaner program: join here (Rules on posting can be found here)

This website along with trade marks Graham Slee and HiFi System Components are owned by Cadman Enterprises Ltd

Majestic DAC

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
GuiseleyDavid View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GuiseleyDavid Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Majestic DAC
    Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 9:39pm
I have many large files on hard drive that are too large in sample rate for the maximum specification on the USB input on the DAC.  As a simple non engineer I wish to know if the Dac will play them and if so will it do them justice.  I note that we are advised that if we only look at the specs, we will miss out on the music.  I am on the waiting list to borrow a DAC and if it won't play them I can withdraw and not waste peoples time.  I am using a GS MM phono stage and am waiting for delivery on a MC phono stage, so as a big fan, I am hoping that I can use the DAC.   
Thanks in advance for your help. 
Chris Firth View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Chris Firth Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 9:58pm
The USB input spec for the Majestic was chosen because special drivers would not be required.

Your computer's default behaviour is to play the file, using whatever resources it takes to do the job.
This includes downsampling files, which is what the computer should do transferring the data over USB.

So the short answer is yes, it should play your files.
But there is a cost, and it depends on the operating system of the computer hooked up to the DAC how big that cost is.