Print Page | Close Window

Majestic DAC

Printed From: Graham Slee at Hifi System Components
Category: Digital Audio
Forum Name: Computer Audio
Forum Description: Is computer audio here to stay or is it just another flavour of the month?
URL: https://www.hifisystemcomponents.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=4407
Printed Date: 19 Nov 2019 at 1:16am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.01 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: Majestic DAC
Posted By: GuiseleyDavid
Subject: Majestic DAC
Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 9:39pm
I have many large files on hard drive that are too large in sample rate for the maximum specification on the USB input on the DAC.  As a simple non engineer I wish to know if the Dac will play them and if so will it do them justice.  I note that we are advised that if we only look at the specs, we will miss out on the music.  I am on the waiting list to borrow a DAC and if it won't play them I can withdraw and not waste peoples time.  I am using a GS MM phono stage and am waiting for delivery on a MC phono stage, so as a big fan, I am hoping that I can use the DAC.   
Thanks in advance for your help. 

Replies:
Posted By: Chris Firth
Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 9:58pm
The USB input spec for the Majestic was chosen because special drivers would not be required.

Your computer's default behaviour is to play the file, using whatever resources it takes to do the job.
This includes downsampling files, which is what the computer should do transferring the data over USB.

So the short answer is yes, it should play your files.
But there is a cost, and it depends on the operating system of the computer hooked up to the DAC how big that cost is.

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 10:14pm
Thank you, is it worth continuing with loaning a DAC from you and seeing how it performs, or should I look elsewhere? 

Posted By: Chris Firth
Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 10:48pm
Try it and see what you think of it.