FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Welcome to the Graham Slee Audio Products Owners Forum

Open to all owners plus those contemplating the purchase of a Graham Slee HiFi System Components audio product and wishing to use this forum's loaner program: join here (Rules on posting can be found here)

This website along with trade marks Graham Slee and HiFi System Components are owned by Cadman Enterprises Ltd

Alignment tools

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 14>
Author
Fatmangolf View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Fatmangolf Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Alignment tools
    Posted: 19 Aug 2013 at 12:55pm
On my Rega P3-24 and Technics SL1210 I have been using paper alignment protractors for a few years now. These are arc protractors I got from the Vinyl Engine website and I would put them on top of an old LP, using Blu-tac to lock the platter in place. I bought a Clearaudio Alignment Gauge recently and would now recommend this.

Why do this: records are cut in a straight line from edge to centre but the standard tonearm is pivoted so the stylus (and cartridge) follow an arc. The various alignments will minimise the distortion caused by the angle of the stylus in the groove.

How 1: Paper arc protractor - see above. Assuming you use the correct arc and it is to scale, the main challenge is ensuring the protractor is correctly positioned. That means cutting the right size hole for the spindle and pointing the baseline at the pivot.

How 2: the Clearaudio alignment gauge has a ruled arm with a thin rod you position on the centre of the top of the arm pivot. It is quite easy to use after the first go (!) and now gives me quick and repeatable results on both decks with different cartridges. It is £190 but is well made and offers some alignment options I liked.