New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - PSU1 Constructors KIT
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Welcome to the Graham Slee Audio Products Owners Club

 

Open to all owners plus those contemplating the purchase of a Graham Slee audio product wishing to use our loaner program: join here
Subscribe to our newsletter here (Rules on posting can be found here)


Topic ClosedPSU1 Constructors KIT

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 234
Author
Fatmangolf View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 23 Dec 2009
Location: Middlesbrough
Status: Offline
Points: 5069
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 5:53pm
Agreed. The PSU1 gives a very clean low noise supply and makes a positive difference on every GSP unit I have owned. I have seen the transformer inside my PSU1 and it is a very high quality unit, not cheaply acquired or substituted.
 
I did the same thing as you with the DACMagic I had with a big linear (transformer) PSU to replace the AC wall wart. Fuller and clearer sound from the unit.
 
Better (low noise) regulation and capacitors have improved my digital sound from the Squeezebox Touch I use. The EDO and Toolbox mods helped a lot, well worth investigating if you have a compatible Squeezebox.
 


Edited by Fatmangolf - 27 Jun 2012 at 5:53pm
Jon

Open mind and ears, whilst owning GSP Genera, Accession, Elevator EXP, Solo ULDE, Proprius amps, Cusat50 cables, Lautus digital cable, Spatia cables and links, and a Majestic DAC.
Back to Top
BAK View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 14 Mar 2010
Location: Kentucky, USA
Status: Offline
Points: 867
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Aug 2013 at 7:55pm
Originally posted by Fatmangolf Fatmangolf wrote:

I would be very interested in making one of these PSU1 kits if you are making them available.
 
I too would be interested in a DIY kit.
 
Bruce
Bruce
AT-14SA, Pickering XV-15/625, Technics SL-1600MK2, Reflex M, Lautus, Technics SH-8066, Dynaco ST120a, Eminence Beta 8A in custom cabs;; Using Majestic DAC
Enjoy Life Your Way!
Back to Top
Ash View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 18 Mar 2013
Location: Dorset
Status: Offline
Points: 2801
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Aug 2013 at 10:44pm
Such a kit would be a very good learning exercise for me Graham. Thumbs Up I might check out some of your kits in the future although I do worry that I could wreck some of my electronics if I make a mistake.
Back to Top
Graham Slee View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Telling it as it is

Joined: 11 Jan 2008
Location: South Yorkshire
Status: Offline
Points: 8325
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Aug 2013 at 12:47am
We make them to IEC60950 and they carry an IEC certified-body certificate no: NL-8023

http://www.gspaudio.co.uk/images/iec-certificate.pdf

They are flash tested as part of the certification agreement.

In my opinion a novice making this power supply could easily make something lethal. I have had plenty of 230V AC shocks in my life, and I am aware that one day one could kill me. I try to avoid contact with the mains! You should too (here I am referring to all who have asked).

A death could easily happen to a constructor, and it would not matter if I printed a disclaimer, I would be had up for manslaughter. Ever heard of those accident solicitors?

I am sorry, I will never sell any mains item as a kit.

Other manufacturers are not as accountable.
Not simple enough for Google-Bot to understand...
Back to Top
BAK View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 14 Mar 2010
Location: Kentucky, USA
Status: Offline
Points: 867
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Aug 2013 at 7:19am
"We make them to IEC60950 and they carry an IEC certified-body certificate no: NL-8023

http://www.gspaudio.co.uk/images/iec-certificate.pdf

They are flash tested as part of the certification agreement."

I agree with Graham. His company is holding all the electrical safety responsibility.
Flash testing ensures a unit is safe.
 
Bruce
Bruce
AT-14SA, Pickering XV-15/625, Technics SL-1600MK2, Reflex M, Lautus, Technics SH-8066, Dynaco ST120a, Eminence Beta 8A in custom cabs;; Using Majestic DAC
Enjoy Life Your Way!
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 234
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.01
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.