New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Help with Solo SgrII
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Welcome to the Graham Slee Audio Products Owners Forum

 

Open to all owners plus those contemplating the purchase of a Graham Slee HiFi System Components audio product and wishing to use this forum's loaner program: join here (Rules on posting can be found here)

This website along with trade marks Graham Slee and HiFi System Components are owned by Cadman Enterprises Ltd


Help with Solo SgrII

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>
Author
VenetianGambler View Drop Down
New Member
New Member


Joined: 06 Nov 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote VenetianGambler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Nov 2022 at 8:34pm
Originally posted by Chris Firth Chris Firth wrote:

Looking at manualslib, and it says something about the tape output into 600 ohms is 75mV.
That looks to be quite low.

So what does this mean? Guessing you’re saying there’s likely nothing wrong with either how I’ve got it connected, but also no fault with the amp - and the volume I’ve got is all I can expect? 
Back to Top
Chris Firth View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 16 May 2013
Location: Rossendale, UK
Status: Offline
Points: 1532
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Chris Firth Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Nov 2022 at 9:09pm
Originally posted by VenetianGambler VenetianGambler wrote:

Originally posted by Chris Firth Chris Firth wrote:

Looking at manualslib, and it says something about the tape output into 600 ohms is 75mV.
That looks to be quite low.

So what does this mean? Guessing you’re saying there’s likely nothing wrong with either how I’ve got it connected, but also no fault with the amp - and the volume I’ve got is all I can expect? 
Possibly.
Give John C a call - +44 (0) 1909 568739 and +44 (0) 7947 107188 during normal office hours.
See if he can look into the problem for you.


Edited by Chris Firth - 06 Nov 2022 at 9:17pm
Back to Top
VenetianGambler View Drop Down
New Member
New Member


Joined: 06 Nov 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote VenetianGambler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Nov 2022 at 9:12pm
Originally posted by Chris Firth Chris Firth wrote:

Possibly.

Ok thanks. I guess I’ll be returning it. 
Back to Top
Fatmangolf View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 23 Dec 2009
Location: Middlesbrough
Status: Offline
Points: 8998
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Fatmangolf Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Nov 2022 at 9:23pm
To be fair the problem seems to be the low level of the Naim tape output. Have you tried connecting a source like cd player direct to the Solo?
Jon

Open mind and ears whilst owning GSP Genera, Accession M, Accession MC, Elevator EXP, Solo ULDE, Proprius amps, Cusat50 cables, Lautus digital cable, Spatia cables and links, and a Majestic DAC.
Back to Top
VenetianGambler View Drop Down
New Member
New Member


Joined: 06 Nov 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote VenetianGambler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Nov 2022 at 9:32pm
Originally posted by Fatmangolf Fatmangolf wrote:

To be fair the problem seems to be the low level of the Naim tape output. Have you tried connecting a source like cd player direct to the Solo?

Not yet - but that wouldn’t be amazingly practical long term as I have a cd and turntable 
Back to Top
BackinBlack View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Location: Hinton, N'hants
Status: Offline
Points: 2020
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BackinBlack Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Nov 2022 at 11:08am
The NAC 62 appears to have 2 line level outputs one 4 pin and one 5 pin, could you use one of these to feed the Solo?
Just listen, if it sounds good to you, enjoy it.
Back to Top
VenetianGambler View Drop Down
New Member
New Member


Joined: 06 Nov 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote VenetianGambler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Nov 2022 at 11:13am
Originally posted by BackinBlack BackinBlack wrote:

The NAC 62 appears to have 2 line level outputs one 4 pin and one 5 pin, could you use one of these to feed the Solo?

Hiya - not sure where you're seeing this. I think there's only the one to the power amp (which is obviously in use), and the tape loop. Is that what you mean? 
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.01
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.094 seconds.