New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Foobar 2000 Order of Play
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Welcome to the Graham Slee Audio Products Owners Club

 

Open to all owners plus those contemplating the purchase of a Graham Slee audio product wishing to use our loaner program: join here
Subscribe to our newsletter here (Rules on posting can be found here)


Foobar 2000 Order of Play

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>
Author
patientot View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 28 Nov 2018
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 1319
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote patientot Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Sep 2022 at 5:10pm
Originally posted by lfc jon lfc jon wrote:

My bad. I have just read this article a bit more closely and it seems Graham's needs are more to do with playing digital more that ripping. dBpoweramp is a ripper and converter.


Yep, but how the files are tagged at the outset starts with ripping. Different ripping programs usually have a different tagging scheme or settings that can be changed.
Reflex M + PSU-1 used with AT150-40ML, AT VM95ML, Stanton 680mkII + Ogura, and Shure M35X cartridges.
Back to Top
Graham Slee View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Retired

Joined: 11 Jan 2008
Location: South Yorkshire
Status: Offline
Points: 15005
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Graham Slee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Sep 2022 at 7:10pm
Originally posted by Chris Firth Chris Firth wrote:

Graham's playback issues came about directly because of poor file tagging, which starts at the ripping stage.
Get the file tagging and library location and structure sorted out form the off and everything works swimmingly well.

Correct on both counts.

Otherwise FB2K is great for my needs.
My blog is sponsored by Cadman Enterprises Limited
Back to Top
Graham Slee View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Retired

Joined: 11 Jan 2008
Location: South Yorkshire
Status: Offline
Points: 15005
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Graham Slee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Sep 2022 at 8:25pm
In EAC it asks where you'd like the file to end up. By navigating to it, it gets the path, \\NAS-xx-xx-xx\Documents\Documents and Settings\Administrator\My Documents\My Music and the new folder in my music titled as the album I'm ripping, and...

It completely ignores it!

But if I paste that lot into the Foobar 2000 dialogue box, after ripping, I find it where I wanted it.

Perhaps EAC doesn't like the directory depths?
My blog is sponsored by Cadman Enterprises Limited
Back to Top
Graham Slee View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Retired

Joined: 11 Jan 2008
Location: South Yorkshire
Status: Offline
Points: 15005
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Graham Slee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Sep 2022 at 8:35pm
Here's an example of where EAC put an album...

EAC directory fun

One day I'll get round to shifting it Wink
My blog is sponsored by Cadman Enterprises Limited
Back to Top
Chris Firth View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 16 May 2013
Location: Rossendale, UK
Status: Offline
Points: 1413
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Chris Firth Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Sep 2022 at 8:59pm
I've just started an EAC rip to a place on my NAS, and it's creating stuff where it's supposed to go.
Currently the only entry is a WAV file, but at the end of the track rip I expect it to have post rip compression applied and for the file to become a FLAC.
Back to Top
Chris Firth View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 16 May 2013
Location: Rossendale, UK
Status: Offline
Points: 1413
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Chris Firth Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Sep 2022 at 9:03pm
For whatever reason, the external compression didn't work - it could be down to a permissions thing.
I don't allow anything to write on the NAS, so it's possible the NAS sees EAC as a user without write permissions.
Back to Top
Chris Firth View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 16 May 2013
Location: Rossendale, UK
Status: Offline
Points: 1413
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Chris Firth Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Sep 2022 at 9:43pm
Messing about with permissions on the NAS did nothing.
The breakdown point for me seems to be that the initial rip (to WAV) is not being read back from the NAS, which in turn means that EAC cannot compress the file to FLAC.

If I'm not mistaken dBPoweramp deals with the compression from a cached file, rather than the one written to the location.

EAC works fine to a location on the local (ie the computer it's installed on) machine, so an external HDD connected via USB would work just fine.

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.01
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.125 seconds.