New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Voyager Volume Problem
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Join our friendly forum here and subscribe to our newsletters here

A rule of fairness:
When other manufacturers websites allow people to recommend our products instead of their own then people can do the same here, but please not before! Such posts will be deleted.
See terms and conditions here...


Voyager Volume Problem

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
KenWilson View Drop Down
New Member
New Member
Avatar

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Location: Scotland
Status: Offline
Points: 20
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote KenWilson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Voyager Volume Problem
    Posted: 09 Apr 2013 at 11:11pm
Hi Graham,

Tried sending you an email but got a bounce back, so had to post on the forum.

I was just checking if you did repairs?  I have a one of your Voyager amps which I've been successfully and happily using for a number of years now.  Unfortunately it has developed a volume related problem.   It started a couple of weeks ago now.  While adjusting the volume I notice it crackling and the sound became very loud and abrasive.  However having tried it again at the weekend there is now almost no sound coming out of my headphones.  I'd hate to think it was un-repairable, as I use that and my Ultra Linear on a very regular basis. 
Can you let me know if it's fixable please?

Thanks in advance,
Ken Wilson
Back to Top
Ash View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 18 Mar 2013
Location: Dorset
Status: Offline
Points: 2737
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ash Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Apr 2013 at 11:58pm
Graham will get back to you soon, because he cares a lot about his customers. Thumbs Up  He's been busy lately with the move of his headquarters so he has not been around here as much as he would like. Sit tight and he'll respond eventually. Smile

Sounds like some sort of component failure/fault perhaps, even if it's just one single component. I'm sure it is straightforward enough to fix, even if it involves one of Graham's guys taking a look at the PCB and replacing an electronic component. Smile
Back to Top
mrarroyo View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 28 Jul 2008
Location: Miami Beach, FL
Status: Offline
Points: 1412
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mrarroyo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Apr 2013 at 11:09am
Ken, I sure hope you get your Voyager fixed soon. It is a very nice sounding amp and it should not be any problem for Graham to correct the situation. Cheers!
Miguel
Back to Top
KenWilson View Drop Down
New Member
New Member
Avatar

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Location: Scotland
Status: Offline
Points: 20
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote KenWilson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Apr 2013 at 11:58am
Thanks for responding so quickly, much appreciated.  Like you, I'm hopeful that it can be fixed.
 
Cheers,
Ken
Back to Top
JamesD View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 05 Nov 2012
Location: Bolsover
Status: Offline
Points: 244
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JamesD Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Apr 2013 at 12:56pm
Maybe something as simple as a rogue dry joint, I say rogue because of the usual high build quality!
Back to Top
Ash View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 18 Mar 2013
Location: Dorset
Status: Offline
Points: 2737
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ash Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Apr 2013 at 1:28pm
Remember that Graham does not build individual electronic components so he is dependent on the components he receives from his suppliers. I personally doubt the build quality has anything to do with it. Perhaps it does but I doubt it. It's probably simply a component failure, which is not GSP's fault as they have no control over the expected lifespan of the electronic components that they use. GSP HQ has plenty of electronic test equipment for identifying a fault on a PCB. It will simply be a sequence of elimination via test apparatus until they isolate the problem. Component replacement will solve the issue, I'm sure. No need to be too concerned and I'd imagine repair costs won't be too bad. Smile
Back to Top
Graham Slee View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Pushing the boundaries

Joined: 11 Jan 2008
Location: South Yorkshire
Status: Offline
Points: 8036
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Graham Slee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Apr 2013 at 4:08pm
I did reply but it seems it didn't get through. Been busy trying to manage new workshop fitting out - great tradesmen this time around but asking lots more questions than I can answer - hoping to be back to posting soon.

DC offset can cause "pot scratch" but high frequency instability is the usual culprit and is why we fit compensation capacitors. If an older unit it may not have them because the design tested stable, but I'm now doing "belt and bracers" because the airwaves are so over modulated these days. If it does have comp caps one could fail but if on both channels two failed caps are highly unlikely. Is the input cable shielded? If you're unsure give us a call on 01909 568739 (+44 prefix outside UK)
Not simple enough for Google-Bot to understand...
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.01
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.