Print Page | Close Window

Noisy pc what option should I choose?

Printed From: Graham Slee Hifi System Components
Category: Digital Audio
Forum Name: Computer Audio
Forum Description: Is computer audio here to stay or is it just another flavour of the month?
URL: https://www.hifisystemcomponents.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=4112
Printed Date: 28 Mar 2024 at 11:30am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.01 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: Noisy pc what option should I choose?
Posted By: Chrispyduck
Subject: Noisy pc what option should I choose?
Date Posted: 27 Jan 2017 at 9:02pm
Hi, I have a home made pc which serves me well, sounds great and is very quick. Trouble is, it has a noisy fan which is permanently active. The pc wasnt constructed by me( im no techie) so should I look at getting components changed to make it silent, or get a tablet pc, if so which one as not all are compatible with a dac?
Thx Chrispy

Replies:
Posted By: Gary
Date Posted: 27 Jan 2017 at 9:45pm
What about a laptop? I've recently replaced a home built PC used for Photoshop with a laptop and the fan noise is minimal, if used for web browsing etc. it silent.

-------------
Solo ULDE, CuSat50, Spatia Links

Date Posted: 27 Jan 2017 at 9:53pm
Would prefer no fan at all tbh, can I ask which laptop?

Posted By: Gary
Date Posted: 28 Jan 2017 at 9:22am
Fan or no fan will depend on what other activities you need a computer for, I also have a Lenovo Yoga 300 that is fanless and silent but it's not upto serious Photoshop use (other laptop is a Dell XPS 15). Tablets to me always look a bit clumsy when used with a USB adapter to link to a DAC.

-------------
Solo ULDE, CuSat50, Spatia Links

Posted By: Fatmangolf
Date Posted: 28 Jan 2017 at 11:49am