New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - New furniture and PSUs
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Join our friendly forum here and subscribe to our newsletters here

A rule of fairness:
When other manufacturers websites allow people to recommend our products instead of their own then people can do the same here, but please not before! Such posts will be deleted.
See terms and conditions here...


New furniture and PSUs

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Richardl60 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 04 Nov 2014
Location: Yorkshire
Status: Offline
Points: 1120
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Richardl60 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Nov 2017 at 8:58am
I did suffer bad hum when I first bought my PSU which was located on th3 floor. Why?

Cable management of the long cables which were in very close proximity to my speaker cables at the time.

Cable length was an issue
Back to Top
RichieCactus View Drop Down
Regular
Regular
Avatar

Joined: 18 May 2017
Location: Surrey
Status: Offline
Points: 47
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RichieCactus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Nov 2017 at 9:00am
Originally posted by Graham Slee Graham Slee wrote:

PSU1's best on floor. This is because of mechanical vibration which all mains transformers produce. The vibration has been known to "induce" 50Hz (60Hz if your mains is that) signal into other things. This might not happen in all cases. But seeing it has it is worth thinking about. The "phenomena" I  first discovered 30 years ago when building some amplifiers which had output transformers. I had mains hum on the output. I started removing bits of the circuit until there was no amplifier left - absolutely no connection to the output transformer, but there was still mains hum. It was because the mains transformer was doing what mains transformers do - they're constrained buzzers! The vibration was transmitted via the case to the output transformer which turned it back into electricity!


Thats interesting...  my Accession's PSU IS on the floor ... Smile ...  but mainly because I've run out of rack space.  My Rega TTPSU is sited as far from my turntables as possible - as directed by Rega.  I've always understood this was to minimize electro-magnet interference with the sensitive TT cartridges. ?

(hence my "shielding" suggestion previously)

thanks
RC

Rega RP8/Cartridgeman MM3/Thorens TD166/AudioMods VI/Accession/Croft RIAA/Arcam A85/Quad 21L
Back to Top
Graham Slee View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Pushing the boundaries

Joined: 11 Jan 2008
Location: South Yorkshire
Status: Offline
Points: 8036
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Graham Slee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Nov 2017 at 9:53am
Originally posted by RichieCactus RichieCactus wrote:

... I've always understood this was to minimize electro-magnet interference with the sensitive TT cartridges. ?

(hence my "shielding" suggestion previously) ...


Your understanding is correct.
Not simple enough for Google-Bot to understand...
Back to Top
IntempestaNocte View Drop Down
Regular
Regular


Joined: 28 Mar 2016
Location: Stoke
Status: Offline
Points: 53
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote IntempestaNocte Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Nov 2017 at 5:58pm
I was just pondering this very issue when I saw this thread.  I read in a random thread somewhere the other day that it is a bad idea to sit PSUs on carpet.  That was the first time that I had heard of this issue and I was concerned as I have had two PSU1s sitting on the carpet under my hifi cabinet for nearly a year now.  So I started thinking that I should get something to put underneath them to allow free movement of air between the casing and the carpet.  I was thinking of some sort of trivet-like affair and so I ended up looking at some things that are essentially two parallel pieces of wood with doweling connecting them to form a rack.  I was just about to buy a couple when I read Graham's comment about vibration and now I don't know what to do.  Would this be an issue with such an arrangement?

The vibration should pass through the wooden dowels into the wooden sides and from there be absorbed by the carpet, I think... or would the casing rattle against the dowels creating an audible rattle.  Anybody got any ideas. Confused

Incidentally Ifor, I've got the exact opposite problem to you as I have a really pretty but critically overfilled hifi cabinet LOL.  It is so impractical I should really replace it with something purpose made but it is the best looking piece of furniture I own.
Scott

AT150MLX > Audiomods Series V Standard > Rega RP6 > Accession > Marantz PM6005 > KEF Q100 / Solo UL > HD540II.
Voyager, Bitzie, AgSat90.
Back to Top
Richardl60 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 04 Nov 2014
Location: Yorkshire
Status: Offline
Points: 1120
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Richardl60 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Nov 2017 at 9:42pm
Wood may be bad but unless graham has changed it has a brilliant wooden rack with several PSUs in it so suspect it would be fine otherwise he would have them all vibrating at once!
Back to Top
Drewan77 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 25 May 2013
Location: Chester,England
Status: Offline
Points: 1447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Drewan77 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Nov 2017 at 6:13pm
Catching up with the forum for the first time in a while (back yesterday from 6 weeks visiting the family in America) - most of my various PSU1s are on the carpeted floor but the one powering both Accession & Majestic is on a small shelf hooked on the side of the main system rack. 

Reading Grahams earlier post, I guess this is just about the worst place for vibration Embarrassed so I will move it to the floor before I power the system up again (I turn the PSU1s off for these extended trips; when in the UK, I leave the GSP gear permanently on).
Older than I once was, younger than I'll be
.............................
Andrew
Back to Top
Graham Slee View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Pushing the boundaries

Joined: 11 Jan 2008
Location: South Yorkshire
Status: Offline
Points: 8036
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Graham Slee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Nov 2017 at 8:58pm
I made two wooden "caddies" carrying 4 PSU1s each for the road shows to save time in setting up. They are fitted with RS 4-way IEC distribution units and the mains input leads shortened to suit.

Rather than taking the PSU1s back out I left them in the caddies and I use one to power equipment in the workshop rack, stood on the tiled floor. I haven't noticed any degradation to the sound.
Not simple enough for Google-Bot to understand...
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.01
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.