New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Design a circuit to use any device's sound output
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Welcome to the Graham Slee Audio Products Owners Forum

Open to all owners plus those contemplating the purchase of a Graham Slee HiFi System Components audio product and wishing to use this forum's loaner program: join here (Rules on posting can be found here)

This website along with trade marks Graham Slee and HiFi System Components are owned by Cadman Enterprises Ltd

Design a circuit to use any device's sound output

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
vivitern View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote vivitern Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Design a circuit to use any device's sound output
    Posted: 20 Nov 2017 at 7:56am
I am a beginner in electronics. I got myself a second-hand analog oscilloscope but I don't have a function generator. So, as a first project, I am trying to design a circuit to use any device's sound output (PC, mobile phone, etc.) to generate simple sine waves. This will allow me to start learning about designing and how to use an analog oscilloscope.

I have been reading about op-amps in the Art of Electronics and on various websites, so I have based my design around op-amps. I'm specifying a SA5230 Op Amp from ON Semiconductor (http://www.kynix.com/Parts/3948911/SA5230DG.html). I would like to have some input about my design, if it has any glaring shortcomings and things that I have missed as a beginner. Also, I am not sure how to choose values for R and C. Here is my design, please keep in mind it is my first ever experience in electronics & circuit design.

First, I have done some research about the signals that a typical sound card outputs, and it seems like it has no DC offset and is centered about 0V. Since I will be powering my circuit with the USB port's +5V referenced to ground, I will need to provide a DC offset to the signal.