FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Welcome to the Graham Slee Audio Products Owners Forum

Open to all owners plus those contemplating the purchase of a Graham Slee HiFi System Components audio product and wishing to use this forum's loaner program: join here (Rules on posting can be found here)

This website along with trade marks Graham Slee and HiFi System Components are owned by Cadman Enterprises Ltd

Ultrasonic Cleaning of vinyl

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123
Author
Drewan77 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Drewan77 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Aug 2017 at 1:54pm
For really dirty LPs I recommend steam cleaning as part of the routine - it sounds scary but I've been doing this for over 20 years on all 2nd hand records with no noticeable damage as long as the vinyl slowly rotates during steaming. Apart from pre-existing scratches, this loosens/removes everything else.
Older than I once was, younger than I'll be
Andrew
morris_minor View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote morris_minor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Aug 2017 at 10:54am
Originally posted by izafireman izafireman wrote:

I think this is the one I bought.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Digital-Stainless-Ultrasonic-Cleaner-Ultra-Sonic-Bath-Cleaning-Tank-Timer-Heater-/252015247778?var=550877054239&hash=item3aad4781a2:m:mO_TCurwNjvscl3CRrVuEuQ
That's what I've got too.

For dirty second hand records I use Pure Vinyl fluid and a fine-tipped soft tooth brush with the record rotating on the turntable immediately prior to washing. I find this deals with finger marks and helps loosen ground in crud. 
Bob

Majestic DAC/pre-amp
Accession MC/Enigma, Accession MM, Reflex M, Elevator EXP, Era Gold V
Solo ULDE, Novo, Lautus USB and digital, Libran balanced, CuSat50
2 x Proprius + Spatia/Spatia Links
peterb View Drop Down