FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Welcome to the Graham Slee Audio Products Owners Forum

Open to all owners plus those contemplating the purchase of a Graham Slee HiFi System Components audio product and wishing to use this forum's loaner program: join here (Rules on posting can be found here)

This website along with trade marks Graham Slee and HiFi System Components are owned by Cadman Enterprises Ltd

Earthing of phono amp

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Wilki View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Wilki Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Earthing of phono amp
    Posted: 02 Oct 2013 at 9:33pm
As a mechanical engineer I'm seeking clarification on an electrical matter as follows.
I notice that all phono amp mains plugs have no earth. However, the phono amp has an earth stud for connection of flying earth from tt tone arm.
Because the phono mains has no earth does this mean the tt tone arm is not earthed?

Sorry if this is a daft question

Regards
Ian
Fatmangolf View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Fatmangolf Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Oct 2013 at 9:52pm
It is a good question Ian. There are two parts to the answer:

1) the turntable is probably double insulated so a mains earth is not needed for safety.
2) the tone arm may already be earthed via the cartridge as some have metal bodies with one of the earth pins (green or blue) connected to them and thus to the tonearm via the mounting screws.

Without a record playing please turn the volume up on your amp, if you hear a buzz or hum I suggest dropping the volume and try running a cable from your turntable's earth stud to the preamp's earth terminal. If there is less buzz/hum tidy it up. If more buzz/hum remove the cable.
Jon